Utah DMV Change of Address Form

Moving somewhere in Utah? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Department of Motor Vehicles to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration, so now's the time to act!

But don't worry - we've got your back. We've compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You'll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Utah home.

To begin, select from the following

Utah Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Utah?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver's license records?

No

Will the state of Utah issue me a new driver's license or ID card?

Yes

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

You're in luck! You can easily complete your change of address online through Utah's Change of Address Service website.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

  • Your current driver's license
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number

When do I need to complete my driver's license change of address?

Act fast - you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

Utah Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Utah?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You're in luck! You can easily complete your change of address online through Utah’s Change of Address System.

Or, you can complete your change of address in person at the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles. You can also complete your change of address by mail:

  • Utah State Tax Comission
  • Division of Motor Vehicles
  • P.O. Box 30412
  • Salt Lake City, UT 84130

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

  • Your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Your vehicle model number and year

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to report your change of address three months prior to your registration renewal date

Utah Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to get a new driver's license?

Yes

Where can I get a new driver's license?

We hate to say it, but you'll need to visit the Utah Driver License Division. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Proof of identity
  • Social Security verification
  • Two proofs of Utah residency

When do I need to get a new driver's license?

Act fast – there’s no grace period for changing an out-of-state driver license to a Utah license. If you’re a resident on a Utah road, you need a valid Utah license.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Yes. You will be required to take the written test; however, you might not be required to take the road test. The Driver License Office indicates that one or both tests may be required. You will also be required to take a vision test.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age old question. If you’re under the age of 21, there’s a $30 license fee. For anyone 21 and up, there’s a $25 license fee.

Utah Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes

Where can I register my vehicle?

You'll need to visit the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to register your vehicle within 60 days of entry

Is there a fee?

We don't fault you for asking. Visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

Yes, for certain vehicles. Visit Utah’s Emission Inspections page for more information.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Utah's Vehicle Insurance Requirements page for more information.

Utah Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Utah?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Utah will automatically cancel your driver's license.

Utah Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Utah?

No

Do I need to return my license plates?

No. Go ahead and save them for the grandkids.

Resources

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles
1-800-368-8824

Updater is a smarter way to

Forward
your mail

Connect
utilities

Hook up your
home services

Update
your accounts

Search
move-in offers

Share moving
announcements

Next steps

  • Change address with DMV
  • Forward mail with USPS
  • Hook up utilities and home services
  • Update accounts and records
    Forward mail now
Text Us