Nebraska DMV Change of Address Form

Moving somewhere in Nebraska? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Department of Motor Vehicles to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration, so now's the time to act!

But don't worry - we've got your back. We've compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You'll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Nebraska home.

To begin, select from the following

Nebraska Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Nebraska?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver's license records?

No

Will the state of Nebraska issue me a new driver's license or ID card?

Yes

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

You'll need to visit the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver's license change of address?

Act fast - you'll need to report your change of address within 60 days of your move.

Nebraska Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Nebraska?

Yes

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You'll need to visit the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles in the town of your new residence. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

Nebraska Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to get a new driver's license?

Yes

Where can I get a new driver's license?

You'll need to visit the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Proof of identification
  • Your out of state license
  • Proof of Nebraska residency

When do I need to get a new driver's license?

You'll need to visit the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles office within 60 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

You'll only need to take a driving test if you're unable to surrender your out of state license, or if the license expired over one year ago.

Is there a fee?

Fees vary. Check out the license fee chart for more information.

Nebraska Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes

Where can I register my vehicle?

You'll need to register your vehicle either in person or by mail at your County Treasurer's Office. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • An original document prooving financial responsibility (i.e. Certificate of Insurance, Property Bond, etc.). Photocopies will not be accepted.
  • Proof that sales or excise tax has been paid
  • A copy of the signed lease agreement, if the vehicle is leased

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to register your vehicle within 30 days of your move.

Is there a fee?

We don't fault you for asking. Costs vary. Visit the Nebraska Registration Fees and Taxes page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No, but a Vehicle Inspection is required.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Nebraska's Insurance Requirements page for more information.

Nebraska Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Nebraska?

No. When you receive a license from the state you're moving to, Nebraska will automatically cancel your driver's license.

Nebraska Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Nebraska?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No

Do I need to return my license plates?

Yes

Where can I return my license plates?

You can return your licence plates by mail to your local Nebraska DMV.

What will I need?

  • Your license plates
  • The vehicle's registration
  • Validation decals
  • A photocopy of your new registration

When do I need to register my vehicle?

You'll need to return your license plates and registration within 60 days of your move.

Resources

Nebraska Motor Vehicle Division
1-308-367-4525

Updater is a smarter way to

Forward
your mail

Connect
utilities

Hook up your
home services

Update
your accounts

Search
move-in offers

Share moving
announcements

Next steps

  • Change address with DMV
  • Forward mail with USPS
  • Hook up utilities and home services
  • Update accounts and records
    REQUEST AN INVITE