Louisiana DMV Change of Address Form

Moving somewhere in Louisiana? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Department of Motor Vehicles to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration, so now's the time to act!

But don't worry - we've got your back. We've compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You'll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Louisiana home.

To begin, select from the following

Louisiana Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Louisiana?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver's license records?

No

Will the state of Louisiana issue me a new driver's license or ID card?

Yes

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

You can complete your change of address in person at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles Branch. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver's license change of address?

Act fast - you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

Louisiana Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Louisiana?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You'll need to visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

Louisiana Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to get a new driver's license?

Yes

Where can I get a new driver's license?

We hate to say it, but you'll need to visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

When do I need to get a new driver's license?

Act fast - you'll need to obtain an Louisiana driver's license within 30 days of becoming a resident.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a vision test.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age old question. Costs vary – visit the fees page for more information.

Louisiana Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes

Where can I register my vehicle?

You'll need to visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Your Vehicle Application
  • Your notarized and properly assigned title
  • Completed odometer disclosure statement (only for private sale purchases)
  • UCC-1 Financing Statement, security agreement, or chattel mortgage (if financing is involved)
  • Notarized Bill of Sale or invoice showing the selling price (only for private sale purchases that don't have this information on the title)
  • Proof of sales tax payment on the vehicle
  • Your current registration

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to register your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a resident.

Is there a fee?

We don't fault you for asking. Costs vary, visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No, an emissions test is not required, unless you live in Baton Rouge.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit the Louisiana's Insurance Requirements page for more information.

Louisiana Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Louisiana?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Louisiana will automatically cancel your driver's license.

Louisiana Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Louisiana?

Yes

When will I need to register my vehicle?

Act fast – you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

What will I need to bring?

A copy of your Registration Certificate.

Do I need to return my license plate?

Yes

Where can I return my license plates?

You can return your license plates in person or by mail. For locations, visit the Parish page.

Resources

Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles
1-225-925-6146

Updater is a smarter way to

Forward
your mail

Connect
utilities

Hook up your
home services

Update
your accounts

Search
move-in offers

Share moving
announcements

Next steps

  • Change address with DMV
  • Forward mail with USPS
  • Hook up utilities and home services
  • Update accounts and records
    REQUEST AN INVITE