Idaho DMV Change of Address Form

Moving somewhere in Idaho? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Department of Motor Vehicles to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration, so now's the time to act!

But don't worry - we've got your back. We've compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You'll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Idaho home.

To begin, select from the following

Idaho Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Idaho?

Yes

Will the state of Idaho issue me a new driver's license or ID card?

No. If you'd like a new license that reflects your change of address, you must apply for a duplicate.

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

Luckily, you can submit your change of address form online here. If you prefer to keep it old school, you can submit your form in the following ways:

By mail:

  • Driver services
  • Idaho Transportation Department
  • PO Box 7129
  • Boise, ID 83707-1129

By fax: (208) 287-3860

By email: dmvadintctl@itd.idaho.gov

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my driver's license change of address?

Act fast - you'll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

Idaho Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Idaho?

Yes, but if you change your address on your driver license record, your vehicle registration record will automatically be updated.

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

Luckily, you can submit your change of address form online here. If you prefer to keep it old school, you can submit your form in the following ways:

By mail:

  • Driver Services
  • Idaho Transportation Department
  • PO Box 7129
  • Boise, ID 83707-1129

By fax: (208) 287-3860

By email: dmvadintctl@itd.idaho.gov

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to report your change of address within 30 days of your move.

Idaho Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to get a new driver's license?

Unless you're a a student from another state, you must get an Idaho driver's license.

Where can I get a new driver's license?

You can get a new driver's license at an Idaho Driver License Office. We hate to say it, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Your Social Security number
  • Your out-of-state license
  • Your Driver License Application (you can pick this up at the DMV)
  • Proof of Idaho residency
  • Proof of age and identity
  • Proof of legal presence

You can find more information on acceptable documents on the Idaho Transportation Department website.

When do I need to get a new driver's license?

Act fast - you'll need to visit the Idaho Transportation Department office within 90 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

You will need to pass a vision and written exam. You may be asked to take a driving test depending on certain factors. Contact the Idaho Transportation Department at (208) 334-8736 for more information.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age old question. Costs vary. See the Idaho Transportation Department fees schedule for more information.

Idaho Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes, but you must transfer your title first. You can do both in the same visit!

Where can I register my vehicle?

You'll need to visit the County Assessor Vehicle Licensing Office. Sorry to say, but services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Your driver's license
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Your out-of-state registration and title
  • A completed Application for Certificate of Title
  • Proof of address/residency
  • Proof of vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection. This inspection can generally be performed by a deputy of either the county assessor motor vehicle office (for $5) or the county sheriff's office (have them fill out this form).

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to register your vehicle within 90 days of your move.

Is there a fee?

We don't fault you for asking. Expect to pay a $14 title transfer fee, plus a use tax if you purchased your vehicle within 3 months of moving to Idaho. Registration costs vary. Visit the registration fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No, unless you are registering your vehicle in Ada County, Canyon County, or the city of Kuna.

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Idaho's Driver Manual for more information.

Idaho Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Idaho?

No. When you receive a license from the state you're moving to, Idaho will automatically cancel your driver's license.

Idaho Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Idaho?

No

Do I need to return my license plates?

Nope - go ahead and save them for the grandkids.

Resources

Idaho Transportation Department
(208) 334-8000

Updater is a smarter way to

Forward
your mail

Connect
utilities

Hook up your
home services

Update
your accounts

Search
move-in offers

Share moving
announcements

Next steps

  • Change address with DMV
  • Forward mail with USPS
  • Hook up utilities and home services
  • Update accounts and records
    REQUEST AN INVITE
Text Us