Florida DMV Change of Address Form

Moving somewhere in Florida? Before you cruise around the new neighborhood, add updating the Department of Motor Vehicles to your moving to-do list. In some states, you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration, so now's the time to act!

But don't worry - we've got your back. We've compiled everything you need to know about updating your driving records with your new residential or mailing address. You'll be able to head out with the car keys from the day you officially call Florida home.

To begin, select from the following

Florida's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Florida?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my driver's license records?

No

Will the state of Florida issue me a new driver's license or ID card?

Yes

Where can I complete my driver's license change of address?

You're in luck! You can easily complete your change of address online through Florida's Virtual Office. You can also complete your change of address in person at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

A fan of snail mail? You can also complete your change of address by mail here:

Bureau of Issuance Oversight
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

  • Your Notice of Change of Address Form
  • A check or money order for $25, payable to the Division of Driver's Licenses
  • Your Social Security number
  • Your driver's license number
  • Your new mailing and residence address

When do I need to complete my driver's license change of address?

Act fast - you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

Florida Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Florida?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

You'll be happy about this one: You can easily complete your change of address online through Florida's Virtual Office.

Or, you can complete your change of address in person at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Like to do things the old-fashioned way? You can also complete your change of address by mail here:

Bureau of Issuance Oversight
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

What will I need when I notify the DMV?

  • Your Notice of Change of Address Form
  • A check or money order for $25, payable to Division of Driver's Licenses
  • Your Social Security number
  • Your new mailing and residence address
  • Your driver's license number

When do I need to complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

Florida Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to get a new driver's license?

Yes

Where can I get a new driver's license?

We hate to say it, but you'll need to visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Services are not available online.

What will I need?

  • Proof of Identity. (Examples: U.S. Birth Certificate, valid U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization)
  • Your Social Security card
  • Proof of Residence. (Examples: Deed, mortgage, or utility bill)
  • Your Social Security card
  • Your current driver's license
  • Check out Forida's GatherGoGet website for a complete listing of documents needed.

When do I need to get a new driver's license?

Act fast - you'll need to visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office within 10 days of your move.

Do I need to take a driving test?

Nope. Save your real driving skills for the road. You will, however, have to pass a vision and hearing test.

Is there a fee?

Ah, the age old question. There is a $48 fee to obtain a Florida driver's license. Visit the fees page for more information.

Florida Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to register my vehicle?

Yes

Where can I register my vehicle?

You'll need to visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles in person. Sorry to say, but services are not available online. Avoid the lines, and schedule an appointment online.

What will I need?

When do I need to register my vehicle?

Don't sit on it - you'll need to register your vehicle within 10 days of your move.

Is there a fee?

We don't fault you for asking. Costs vary. Visit the fees page for more information.

Is an emission test required?

No

Is proof of liability insurance required?

Yes. Visit Florida's Vehicle Insurance page to learn more.

Florida Driver's License Change of Address

Do I need to notify the state of Florida?

No. When you receive a license from your new state, Florida will automatically cancel your driver license.

Florida Vehicle Registration Change of Address Information

Do I need to notify the state of Florida?

Yes

Will filling out an official U.S. Postal Service Change of Address Form update my vehicle registration records?

No

Where can I complete my vehicle registration change of address?

Alas, services are not available online. You can mail your license plates and registraiton to:

Bureau of Records
P.O. Box 5775
Tallahassee, FL 32314-5775

What will I need?

  • Your license plates
  • Your registration

Do I need to return my license plates?

Yes. Unfortunately, you won't be able to save them for the grandkids.

Updater is a smarter way to

Forward
your mail

Connect
utilities

Hook up your
home services

Update
your accounts

Search
move-in offers

Share moving
announcements

Next steps

  • Change address with DMV
  • Forward mail with USPS
  • Hook up utilities and home services
  • Update accounts and records
    REQUEST AN INVITE