Montana DMV Change of Address

Montana
MT

Moving to ? If you drive, make sure to notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of your new address. In some states you have less than 30 days to update your driving records and/or vehicle registration.

To begin, select from the following:

MONTANA DRIVER'S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state?
Yes
Will the state issue a new driver license or ID card?
No
Where can I do it?

You can complete your change your address by mail:

  • Motor Vehicle Division
  • Records Section
  • P.O. Box 201430
  • Helena, MT 59620-1430
What will I need?

Your Change of Address form

Your old and new address

Your license number

When do I need to do it?
You'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

MONTANA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state?
Yes, but if you change your address on your driver license record, your vehicle registration record will automatically be updated.
Where can I do it?

You can complete your change your address by mail:

  • Motor Vehicle Division
  • Records Section
  • P.O. Box 201430
  • Helena, MT 59620-1430
What will I need?

Your Change of Address form

Your old and new address

Your license number

When do I need to do it?
You'll need to report your change of address within 10 days of your move.

MONTANA DRIVER'S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to get a new driver's license?
Yes
Where can I do it?

You'll need to visit the Montana Motor Vehicle Division. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

Avoid the lines and make an appointment online

When do I need to do it?
You'll need to visit Montana Motor Vehicle Division within 60 days of becoming a resident.
Do I need to take a driving test?
No, you won't have to take a driving test.
How much does it cost?
Montana charges a $40.50 driver license fee.

MONTANA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to register my vehicle?
Yes
Where can I do it?

You'll need to visit the Montana Motor Vehicle Division. Unfortunately, services are not available online.

What will I need?
When do I need to do it?
You'll need to register your vehicle within 60 days of establishing residency.
How much does it cost?
Costs vary, visit the fees schedule for more information.
Is an emission test required?
No
Is proof of liability insurance required?
Yes. Visit Montana's Minimum Liability Insurance Law for more information.

MONTANA DRIVER'S LICENSE CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Do I need to notify the state?
No. When you receive a license from your new state, Montana will automatically cancel your driver license.

MONTANA VEHICLE REGISTRATION CHANGE OF ADDRESS INFORMATION

Do I need to notify the state?
No
Do I need to return my license plates?
No

Resources:

Montana Motor Vehicle Division
1-406-444-3933
https://doj.mt.gov/driving/

Have you filed an Official USPS Change of Address form so that your mail can be forwarded to your new address?

It’s 100% FREE, fast and secure with Updater!

GET STARTED →